And I’m Off…

The time has finally come! Today I left home for Philadelphia to attend a two-day Peace Corps orientation before we depart for Togo on Thursday. It all feels so surreal. I can’t believe it’s September and that I’m really leaving you all to go live in Africa!

For those of you who have spoken with me recently, you know that I’ve spent the last two months obsessing over my packing list. I’m a compulsive overpacker by nature, so the concept of packing for the next two years seemed impossible. I was determined to bring everything on the five-page list the Peace Corps provided and then some. I told myself that I had to be prepared for any situation. Well, after a whole summer of stress and planning, it only took about 15 minutes wandering around the Philadelphia airport with more than 100 lbs. of luggage to erase all concern I had about being prepared. I was ready to throw my luggage in the next trash can I saw (too bad it wouldn’t even fit) and head off to Togo with the clothes on my back and nothing else. I stared enviously at all of the business people with their small, convenient carry-on luggage, gliding effortlessly by their sides as they swept by me. I, on the other hand, hobbled along, stopping every few minutes to readjust, and leaning against the wall for a quick break now and then. I’m sure it was quite the sight to see. It was a relief to finally get to the hotel, put my bags down, and know that I don’t have to carry them around for a few more days at least. In the meantime, I’ll be contemplating what non-essentials I can leave behind to help lighten the load.

The next 48 hours are going to be crazy. On top of meeting all of my fellow volunteers (yay awkward ice breakers), we have paperwork to finish, crash courses on health, safety, and what to expect to attend, and of course there are lots ‘o immunizations to be had for all. Then we’re off (literally right after we get our shots) to JFK to catch our flight to Lomé, Togo via Brussels.

I don’t know what to expect in terms of internet service once I leave the U.S., but rest assured I’ll be in touch as soon as I get the chance! I’m sure I’ll have stories abound – I can’t wait to share this adventure (or perhaps at times, misadventure) with you.

Miss and love you all!

xoxo

P.S. I had to Google how to start a blog. I am officially old and out of touch!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment